Sign up for email updates from AKSARBEN Foundation

Home > Events > AKSARBEN Ball


The Aksarben Ball has a mission of promoting, recognizing and celebrating volunteerism, philanthropy and community pride. It serves as a fundraising vehicle for the Aksarben Scholars program and awards over 200 scholarships each year to deserving students in Nebraska and western Iowa.

The original Aksarben Ball was established in 1895 to recognize individuals in the region for their civic endeavors. Each year since then, families have been recognized as outstanding leaders from the Heartland. Princesses, Escorts, and Pages represent their families who are being honored for their contributions to the region. The Court of Honor Recognition Award is also distributed at the Ball. Recipients throughout the region are recognized for one of the following eight categories: agriculture, arts, business and industry, education, philanthropy, professions, public service, and sports.

AKSARBEN Ball Committee & the Women's Ball Committee

All aspects of the event are directed by volunteers who serve on the Aksarben Ball Committee and the Women's Ball Committee.

Current members are:

2018 AKSARBEN Ball Committee

Robert A. (Rob) Reed, Jr., Ball Committee Chairman
Tyler R. Owen, Ball Committee Vice Chair
Christie Oberto, Women's Ball Committee Chairman
Karen Nelsen, Women's Ball Committee Advisor

2018 Women's Ball Committee

Christie Oberto, Chairman, CBC, Finance & Investment Committee
Karen Nelsen, Advisor, CBC
Anne Jetter, Princess Chairman
Kim Burkhalter, Heartland Princess Chairman
Julie Liakos, Escort Chairman, FRIENDS Liaison
Sheri Shonka, Heartland Escort Chairman
Judy Pritza, Court of Honor Chairman, Royal Court and Regale Chairman
Beth Wilson, Page Chairman
Sam Wahl, Production Chairman
Jen Alloway, Treasurer, Publicity & Social Media, Royal Court Luncheon Chairman
Jessica Covi, Site and Social Chairman, Files and Lists
Sheila Nelson, Royal Court Brunch Chairman, Gifts/Courtesy/Tribute Card Chairman, Regale Assistant
Sarah McGowan, Royal Court Supper Chairman, Scholarship and Photography Chairman
Ellie Grace, Reservations Chair, Royal Court Brunch Assistant, Historian/Class Social Chair
Libby Stiles, Page Assistant, Standard Bearer Chairman, Page Luncheon Assistant
Sam Hohman, Page Luncheon Chairman, Production Assistant, Yearbook Chairman
Emily Jung, Invitations, Historian Assistant, WBC Concierge
Lisa Krumwiede, Supper Assistant, Program Chairman, Community Support/Endowment

Back to
< Back